Beginning Sunday, April 30, Sitka National Historical Park will transition to its summer hours of operation. The park’s visitor center will be open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Ranger-led interpretive programs will be held daily, with topics focusing on the stories and legends of the totem poles, the Battle of 1804, sea otter ecology and other aspects of the park’s natural and cultural history.
The Russian Bishop’s House will be open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Ranger-led programs of the upstairs residence will be offered every thirty minutes on the hour and half hour, with the first program beginning at 9 a.m. and the last tour beginning at 4:30 p.m. The first floor hosts a self-guided museum and video that are available anytime during open hours. The Russian Bishop’s House is now fee-free.
Park trails are now open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Cyclists are reminded that bicycles must be walked on park trails. A bicycle rack is provided at the visitor center for those wishing to explore the rest of the park on foot. Visitors also are welcome to walk dogs on park trails, but must keep their pets on a leash at all times and dispose of pet waste properly. We appreciate your cooperation with these important park policies.
For additional information, visit the park’s webpage at www.nps.gov/sitk or call the park’s visitor center at 747-0110.